July is for transparent applesauce.

When I moved to West Virginia one of the things I learned was how to make the most of the foods that are available. I had friends who were always canning windfalls of one thing or another, and this includes applesauce when the apples are falling. My friend Marilynn seems to know the location of every good sauce-apple tree in a four-county area. I rarely see her pass up a ripe yellow transparent apple. And you know–I think she’s right about transparent apples for sauce. I think they are the absolute best, though I enjoy other types also. (One of my fantasies is that it would become a heritage West Virginia product, known around the country and shipped by the case from Tucker County.  We could call it Angel Sauce, and have clouds on the label, because it is so sublime and ethereal.)  I try to make my folks in Maryland some applesauce using Splenda since Mom is a diabetic.  Last week I canned a dozen pints for them.  Yesterday I canned seven quarts for us.  I know that may sound pretty skimpy to those who can dozens and dozens of jars. But with another batch of fall apples, it will get us through till next July. I learned a tip from Alice Phillips to prevent browning of the apples while you prepare them for cooking:  as you get them ready, drop them in a tub of water that has a little salt in it.  About a quarter teaspoon in a gallon of water is plenty.  Don’t add enough that you can taste it.  It works– the apples don’t get brown.  I  usually drain it later and use plain water for cooking. It’s not too late to make some tangy  lucious applesauce with the wonderful local yellow transparent apples you see here and there like a golden puddle below a big healthy tree.  Then you can enter it in the Tucker County Fair and if you’re lucky, win a ribbon!

About longslowrise

Mimi Kibler and her husband Alain Kieny live in Parsons, West Virginia. In 1997 they founded LaFontaine bakery to supply the area with hearth baked breads and other treats. Her mother taught her the wonder of food and cooking. French master baker Didier Rosada taught her traditional european sourdough techniques. She is an enthusiastic gardener, birdwatcher and home cook who loves trying new and exotic foods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July is for transparent applesauce.

  1. Clarity says:

    I agree, we bought an old yellow transparent apple tree with a house attached and they are magnificant…last year the one tree produce enough apples to keep my 2 year old satisfied with applesauce for a good 6 months. Also, the pies were raved about by many. I’m excited it’s time to start the “applesauce factory” because the store stuff should not even be called by the same name.

    • longslowrise says:

      True…once you have gotten used to home-canned applesauce, the store kind tastes like they took the flavor out before canning it! Why is store-bought so bland and boring?

  2. Pingback: When Life Gives You Apples … « Ali Does It Herself

Leave a Reply

