we are all bloggers now

oh my gosh–i’m a blogger.  welcome all readers and commenters!  

Although I’m pretty sure I was invited to participate on account of running a small artisan bakery in Parsons, I look forward to posting about any food related topic.   I will be posting every other Sunday; if things go well, perhaps more often.   The food blogs I frequent are  mostly run by cooks with more experience than I have.  Most of the authors have cookbooks and formal culinary training.   In a future post I will list my favorites.

For today I will give a simple dinner idea that can be varied according to available ingredients.  It began as a vegetarian restaurant meal my college roommate (Margie Eddy of Pittsburgh) told me about. I don’t remember where she had it, but it was called “sleet.” (When I googled the word sleet, but all the citings refer to frozen weather, so I don’t really know the origin of the recipe.  I believe it is middle eastern since it is made with bulgur, a precooked cracked wheat product that only requires soaking to make it fluffy and ready to eat.)  The original was made with black-eyed peas and kale and is also delicious.  But here’s what we ate a couple nights ago.

Sleet

Ingredients:

Ingredients for sleet.

6-8 cups of chopped winter greens such as kale or collards

2 Tbsp cooking oil

2 coarsely chopped onions

2 cups thickly sliced carrots

3-12 cloves garlic, sliced

2 cups any kind of cooked pale beans (canned ok)

3/4 cup of bulgur  and 3/4 cup of hot water

juice of 2 lemons

salt and pepper

First heat your oil over medium heat in the largest skillet you have.  Add the onions and carrots and saute till well cooked. Try not to brown the onions.  Add  washed greens and stir to coat.  Turn heat to med-low and stir occasionally till cooked.  This will take about 10-15 minutes.  Add garlic and beans stir gently till heated through.  You could add some salt and pepper now when it’s easier to blend in.  The last things to add are the soaked bulgur and the lemon juice.  You should taste again to see if it needs more salt.  The lemon and salt seasoning are what makes this so delicious. The combination of grain with greens is very satisfying in a tabouli kind of way.  The beans make this a main dish.  Here’s how it looked when I served it recently with some plain yogurt and paprika on top:

Sleet with yogurt

We aren’t vegetarians, but we often skip meat. Thanks for reading this!  If anyone can provide information on the origin of the dish it would be very intesting to me.

bon appetit!

mimi


About longslowrise

Mimi Kibler and her husband Alain Kieny live in Parsons, West Virginia. In 1997 they founded LaFontaine bakery to supply the area with hearth baked breads and other treats. Her mother taught her the wonder of food and cooking. French master baker Didier Rosada taught her traditional european sourdough techniques. She is an enthusiastic gardener, birdwatcher and home cook who loves trying new and exotic foods.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to we are all bloggers now

  1. Terry says:

    Ummmm…that looks good! I’m going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

