Are you a dipper or a crumbler?

Office chatter yesterday was when eating soup do you crumble your crackers into your soup or dip them. From that question I realized it depends on which soup I am eating.

Conversation led to Chili and what we eat with our Chili.

Heidi dips her crackers and eats butter and shredded cheese in her Chili.

Terry dips her crackers and adds shredded cheese to her Chili.

Kelly crumbles just a few crackers at a time and adds shredded cheese to her Chili and has Cornbread on the side.

My sister Jo is both a crumbler and a dipper and adds butter to her bowl of Chili with corn chips on the side.

My sister Teri crumbles her crackers and adds a large spoon of butter to her bowl of Chili and has Cornbread on the side.

My husband crumbles his crackers and adds banana peppers and grilled cheese made with colby longhorn.

My daughter-in-law, Mindy, is a crumbler.

Personally, when eating Chili, I add a spoon of grape jelly and crumble just a few crackers into the side of my bowl and either eat grape jelly or Apple Butter on crackers.

Post a response and tell us if you are a dipper or a crumbler and what is your favorite thing to eat with your Chili.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are you a dipper or a crumbler?

  1. Lori says:

    I have been both a dipper and crumbler. Currently, I’m a crumbler but when I was younger, I dipped a slice of bread in my chili. My favorite thing in my chili is dumplings made with cornbread. It’s a family favorite started by my grandmother.

  2. Debbie says:

    I have crumbled…but I really like to dip….my peanut butter sandwich in my chili or veg soup. I also like hot rolls with peanut butter (hard to keep on the roll) with my soup. When I eat cornbread and beans, I always reserve a half of my cornbread and have butter and honey to finish the bowl off. 🙂

  3. Katie G. says:

    With chili, I like to use bread or crackers as scoop, rather than a spoon. My mother tells me I’m a heathen.

  4. chris says:

    Although I never saw her do this (or eat chili for that matter), My great grandmother used to say that the only way to eat chili with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream on top, she was a great lady.

  5. lavpaige says:

    I like to eat my chili with a baked potato… I usually end up pouring some of the chili on top of the potato and chowing down. So delicious! I agree with Debbie, too… nothing goes better with chili/soup/beans than a big piece of cornbread.

    • Lori says:

      My MIL makes mashed potatoes and tops them with chili. I’ve never tried it but my husband ate that a lot growing up.

  6. Debra Fike says:

    I am more of a crumbler with all soups and chili. I was a dipper also when I was younger, but that was mostly with chili…I dipped bread and grilled cheese sandwiches. Now, besides crumbling crackers in my chili, I also like to crumble cornbead (not at the same time!) I will also add jalapenos, cheddar cheese and ranch dressing.

Leave a Reply

