From Green to Yellow to Cookies

I walk past the kitchen counter and there are a bunch of bananas, yellow in the center, green on both ends. I think wow, just a couple more days and they will be a nice rich yellow, just the way I like them. Sure enough just a couple of days and beautiful. Still I only eat one. Why I don’t know. Then I think just a couple more days and they will have the tiny little brown freckles on them just the way my husband likes them. A couple of days later the bananas are still there minus a few. Next time I pass the counter the bananas have a few more freckles, oh well we will eat them all soon. I am wiping the counter off and I think Man, how can these bananas still be here (with even more freckles). Ok, we don’t have freckles any more, the banana skin is all one color now and it isn’t yellow, I better do something. So I dig out the Banana Bread recipe, which has been handed down from Granny to Mom and to me. I have no idea where it originally came from. Then I think, there has to be something else to do with these things. So the search began and now there is another recipe to hand down. This is a large, soft cookie everyone will love. You can eat them without the frosting, but why would you want to?

Jumbo Banana Cookies

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 cup mashed bananas
1/2 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped walnuts

Frosting
2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Mix together shortening, 1/2 cup butter, white sugar, eggs, bananas, vanilla, 1/2 cup evaporated milk and vinegar till light and creamy.
2. In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to other mixture. Add nuts.
3. Chill one hour in refrigerator.
4. Drop by teaspoonful on greased cookie sheet about two inches apart. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for about 15 minutes. Let cool then frost them.
5. To Make Frosting: Mix 2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar with 2 tablespoons soft butter or margarine, 1/4 cup evaporated milk, and 1/4 tsp vanilla. Beat until soft. Spread on tops of cooled cookies.

Remember, I want to hear from you.  If you try these, drop me a comment and let me know what you think.  Also, if there is anything in particular you want me to blog about let me know.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

